Music from the Past Couple of Weeks

Please click on the links below to hear music from these services. 

Fourth Sunday of Easter
(“Good Shepherd” Sunday) – May 15

Hymn 377: All people that on earth do dwell (Old 100th)

Hymn 208: The strife is o’er (Victory)

arr. Thomson: My Shepherd will supply my need

This is an arragement of a beautiful 19th century American folk melody called Resignation by the noted composer and music critic Virgil Thomsn (1896-1989).  The words are Isaac Watt’s poetic setting of Psalm 23.

Hymn 645: The King of love my Shepherd is (Dominus reget me)

Fifth Sunday of Easter – May 22

Telemann: Allein Gott in der Höh sei Ehr

Hymn 1: Father, we praise thee (Christe sanctorum)

Psalm 66:1-11

Anglican Chant: Charles Stanford
Kristine Chaney, cantor

Hymn 194: Jesus lives! thy terrors now (St. Albinus)

Vaughan Williams (arr. Wagner): ‘The Call’ from Five Mystical Songs

Originally composed as a solo song for baritone and orchestra, the words of the anthem are by the 17th-century English poet George Herbert:

The Call

Come, my Way, my Truth, my Life:
such a way as gives us breath;
such a truth as ends all strife;
such a life as conquers death.

Come, my Light, my Feast, my Strength:
such a light as shows a feast;
such a feast as mends in length;
such a strength as makes his guest.

Come, my Joy, my Love, my Heart:
such a joy as none can move;
such a love as none can part;
such a heart as joys in love.

Hymn 690: Guide me, O thou great Jehovah (Cwm Rhondda)

Leave a Reply

